About Us

You are here:

Our History

Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi was formerly founded and called the Sokoto State College of Technology. It was set up by the State Edict No 5 of 1976 which enabled the Institution to take off on 1st of October, 1977. The College then had its Temporary Site in Farfaru in Sokoto State. The College finally moved to the Permanent site in Birnin Kebbi in 1980.

The College changed to the status of the Polytechnic of Sokoto State, in 1980. The Bill enabling the change as set up by the Government is known as Bill No5 of 1980 and this came into operation on the 1st of April,1980. The Institution became the Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi with the creation of Kebbi State in August, 1991. On the 7th of January, 2002 the name of the Polytechnic was changed to Waziri Umaru Polytechnic. However, in January 2007, the Federal Government took over ownership of the Polytechnic from the State Government and thus became Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi.

Since its establishment in 1976, the Institution has turned graduates who are found in both the Public and Private Sectors of the economy contributing in the overall growth of the National Economy.

Our Mission

“To produced qualified Technicians and Technologies through training and retraining; To advance the frontiers of learning and break new grounds through teaching and research and dissemination of knowledge of the best quality”.

Our Vision

“To contribute to the Scientific and Technological advancement of the Nation; to encourage Inquiry and Research, to advance the course of Humanity”.